It’s been a long time since I posted an article on SEO here and let me tell you, that’s not good for SEO at all. A good site  should post high quality articles regularly for search engines to rank them high. I am guilty of ignoring this, but for me this site is not my bread and butter and I don’t seek to earn any revenue from it. It’s just for me to pen down my thoughts and ideas and prove my credentials to prospective clients who may consider hiring me as a Digital Marketing Consultant.

Ok, so let’s move on to Google Now and SEO. Some time back I purchased a new Android phone, a Moto X Play, to be precise. This phone has almost stock Android 6.0. It has a Google Now launcher. In case you don’t know what I am talking about, it is the app which appears when you swipe towards the left of your home screen.

Google Now and SEO

Some manufacturers add their own launcher, like Samsung has Flipboard. I prefer Google Now as it shows me the updates I want.

I had a client who had a newly launched website and I was doing SEO and content management for the site. As part of my work, I would open the site on my mobile phone, to check if the site is looking good on mobile devices.

What followed was, whenever I added a new post to the site, Google Now would alert me with an update of the latest page added, with a message at the bottom, saying ‘You have visited http://www.noticebard.com in the past’.

Just think what this feature could do to your SEO. Most SEO managers know that a large section of traffic now comes through mobile devices. If you could just send out a couple of links to people through Facebook/WhatApp/Email and get them to view the pages, Google Now would then alert them whenever you added a new page. This could bring a lot of traffic to your site.

